Real-life conditions test of UFOCATCH® V2

ufocatchs_test2_ufo-science660

After issuing our article from July 24th in 2011, we had planned to perform some field tests with our “Lyre-type” detection stations, UFOCATCH® and UFOCATCH® V2 in order to validate some involved concepts. This is with some delay on our planning that this real life conditions test has been done, as a follow-up of our precedent test done in March 2009. For the occasion, the owner of a private flying club granted us access to his airfield for our different experiments.

For recall, UFOCATCH® V2 is the new generation of standalone detection stations that can eventually be used on-site and work 24/24.

UFOCATCH® V2

The methods of calibration, spectrum acquisition and analysis are crucial steps to take into account during their design phase. As these concepts have already been validated during our first real life conditions tests, we focused this time our attention on testing the peripheral equipment ensuring the correct working of the station (power supply, wiring, software, transmission and reception of signals…).

In order to be able to deploy this type of stations on distant locations with no connection to the electrical network, we designed a portable video control system. It can be easily set up in a car trunk and allows to simultaneously controlling – either automatically or manually – two detection stations placed on the car roof.

  • In-vehicule systems in stand-by

  • Deploying the in-vehicule systems

  • The case of the video control system is used as a base for the detection station…

  • …and the fisheye.

This video control system is equipped with two standalone power supplies independent from the car, allowing to provide energy to equipment originally designed for connection to the standard.(110-230V) mains supply. it is also possible to use the video control system from inside the car allowing to control several detection stations while the car is traveling.

Each computer features specific software including a user interface for a better monitoring of parameters variations.

UFOCATH Control panel

  • User interface controls

  • User interface controls during programming phase

[jwplayer mediaid="4491"]User interface controls during tests
 

[jwplayer mediaid="4492"]
Moving of Ufocatch®

In addition to data displayed as text, the interface allows to monitor simultaneously videos from several camcorders some of them being equipped with a diffraction grating. Data collected at the output of two fisheyes allows triangulation of the observed light phenomenon and tracking its position both in direction and azimuth on a compass. The user can also display the spectral profile, and track its real-time evolution.

The UFOCATCH® V2 is versatile. The prototype designed 3 years ago and introduced to the public in Strasbourg in 2010 couldn’t allow using several types of camcorders. The new generation does now offer this feature allowing mounting on the lyre several models of spectroscopic or consumer camcorders, or even telescopes.

UFOCATCH® V2 featuring a telescope

Contrary to our test done in 2009 where we used a light source tied to helium balloons, we considered this time using a quadricopter able to lift up a (CFL) OSRAM Dulux Pocket (aka Dulux Mini).

  • The light source

  • The quadricopter

However strong wind gusts didn’t allow using it. The risk was too high to lose control of the radio controlled model. We then decided using a kite much more able to resist the weather conditions that day.

After that day we’ve been able to validate the correct behavior of our new systems and think about some concepts improvements. Setting up all the equipment is around 15 to 30 min. and easy. The fisheye sensitivity allows the detection of the slightest movement in the sky. The tracking speed of the l’UFOCATCH® V2 is highly efficient, and the station perfectly responds to orders transmitted by the manual control interface. In the future, our video control system will be equipped with more powerful computers able to take into account more data and giving the ability to activate a preprogrammed function – allowing data exchange with other portable video control systems and thus tracking a light phenomenon over long distances.

The most interesting aspect is the autonomy when running all functions of the system simultaneously. Several hours of test have been done using a single power supply without exhausting it. This opens new opportunities when considering the installation of new control and measure equipment or using more powerful robots.

For the occasion, two students from the AFPA (TN: Professional Training for Learning Adults Association), came to make the documentary video in the frame of their courses. The video will be available within few weeks.

Test en conditions réelles de la station UFOCATCH® V2

ufocatchs_test2_ufo-science660

Suite à l’article du 17 juillet 2011, nous avions prévu de tester nos stations de détection de type “Lyre”, UFOCATCH® et UFOCATCH® V2, sur le terrain, afin de valider certains concepts. C’est avec un peu de retard sur le planning que ce test grandeur nature a pu être effectué, faisant écho au précédent essai réalisé en mars 2009. Pour l’occasion, le propriétaire d’un aéroclub privé nous a généreusement autorisé à utiliser son terrain pour nos différentes expérimentations.

Pour rappel, UFOCATCH® V2 est une station de détection autonome de nouvelle génération, qui pourra, à terme, être utilisée sur le terrain et fonctionner 24 heures sur 24.

UFOCATCH® V2

Les méthodes d’étalonnage, de prise de clichés de spectres et d’analyse sont des étapes cruciales à prendre en compte au cours de leur conception. Celles-ci ayant déjà été validées lors des premiers essais en conditions réelles, tout notre intérêt s’est porté cette fois-ci sur le test des équipements périphériques assurant le bon fonctionnement des stations de détection (alimentation électrique, câblages, softwares, transmission/réception des signaux…).

Dans l’optique de pouvoir déployer ce type de station dans des lieux isolés loin de tout réseau électrique, une régie mobile a été conçue. Celle-ci peut être installée discrètement dans le coffre d’un véhicule, et permet de piloter simultanément, en automatique ou en manuel, deux stations de détection positionnées sur le toit.

  • Systèmes embarqués en veille dans le véhicule

  • Déploiement des systèmes embarqués

  • Le coffre de la régie sert de support aux stations de détection…

  • …ainsi qu’au fisheye.

Cette régie est équipée de deux sources d’alimentation autonomes, indépendantes du véhicule, qui permettent de fournir de l’énergie à des équipements prévus pour fonctionner à l’origine sur secteur (230V). Il est également possible d’utiliser la régie depuis l’intérieur du véhicule, et ainsi piloter plusieurs stations de détection alors même que le véhicule est en mouvement.

Chaque ordinateur est équipé d’un software spécifique, associé à une interface graphique, pour une meilleure visibilité de l’évolution des paramètres.

UFOCATH Controle panel

  • Les interfaces de contrôle sur leur support

  • Les interfaces de contrôle en phase de programmation

 [jwplayer mediaid="4491"]Les interfaces de contrôle en action
 

 [jwplayer mediaid="4492"]
Deplacement de l’Ufocatch

Hormis l’affichage de données sous format texte, l’interface permet de consulter simultanément l’image de plusieurs caméras, dont certaines équipées d’un réseau de diffraction. La récupération des informations en sortie de deux fisheyes permet une triangulation du phénomène lumineux observé, et la visualisation de sa position, en Site et en Azimut, sur un compas. L’utilisateur a la possibilité d’afficher le profil spectral, et d’observer son évolution en direct.

l’UFOCATCH® V2 est modulable. Le prototype réalisé il y a trois ans, présenté au grand public à Strasbourg en 2010, ne permettait pas par défaut l’utilisation de plusieurs modèles de caméras. La nouvelle génération offre dorénavant cette possibilité, et permet d’équiper la lyre de différents modèles de caméras spectroscopiques ou grand public, voir même de télescopes.

UFOCATCH® V2 équipé d’un télescope

A la différence du test de 2009, au cours duquel la source lumineuse avait été fixée sur des ballons gonflés à l’hélium, nous avions envisagé l’utilisation d’un Quadricoptère capable de transporter une lampe de poche fluocompacte OSRAM Dulux Pocket.

  • La source lumineuse

  • Le Quadricoptere

Néanmoins, la présence de fortes rafales de vent n’a pas permit son utilisation. Le risque de perte de contrôle du modèle radiocommandé était trop grand. Il fut donc envisagé d’utiliser un cerf volant, bien plus apte à résister aux contraintes météorologique du jour.

Suite à cette journée, nous avons pu valider le bon fonctionnement de nouveaux systèmes, et envisager l’amélioration de certains concepts.
La mise en place de toute l’installation, de l’ordre de 15 à 30 minutes, est aisée. La sensibilité du fisheye permet la détection du moindre mouvement aérien. La vitesse de suivi de l’UFOCATCH® V2 est particulièrement efficace, et la station réagit parfaitement aux ordres transmis par l’interface de pilotage manuel. A l’avenir, la régie sera équipée d’ordinateurs plus puissants capables de prendre en compte encore plus de données, et qui donneront la possibilité d’activer une fonction préprogrammée permettant l’échange d’ informations avec d’autres régies mobiles, et ainsi effectuer le suivi d’un phénomène lumineux sur de grandes distances.

L’aspect le plus intéressant réside dans l’autonomie de l’ensemble des systèmes en fonctionnement simultané. Plusieurs heures de tests ont pu être effectués en utilisant uniquement une seule source d’alimentation, sans l’épuiser. Cela ouvre de nouvelles opportunités en terme d’installation de nouveaux équipements de mesures et de contrôle, ou d’utilisation de robots plus puissants.

A cette occasion, deux étudiants à l’AFPA (Association pour la formation professionnelle des adultes), sont venu réaliser un documentaire dans le cadre de leur formation. Une vidéo devrait être disponible d’ici quelques semaines.